Re: Abiword's Collab plugin with Telepathy

From: Robert Staudinger <>
Date: Fri Apr 11 2008 - 09:21:52 CEST

On Thu, Apr 10, 2008 at 4:47 PM, Alban Crequy
<> wrote:


> 1. Alice writes an Abiword document and wants to share it with Bob. She
> clicks on the "Share document" checkbox and selects Bob in her contact
> list. Bob is online and receives the proposition from Alice in his IM
> software. If he accepts, Abiword is started automatically with the
> Alice's document.

What happens if Bob does not accept to open it immediately? Will the
document still be available for him to join the collaboration at a
later point in time?

> 2. Bob was editing a document with 10 other persons yesterday. He want
> to continue now but he does not remember who was hosting the document.
> He browses the available documents from his contacts and selects the
> right one. Alice receives the request from Bob and accepts it. Abiword
> opens the Alice's document.

So the token to edit a document is not persistent over collaboration
sessions? Bob has to request again, although he's already been
invited/authenticated before? I'd rather support use case 3. Alice
should be able to revoke Bob's credentials anyways, right?

FWIW, I'm just a normal abiword developer, not involved with collab.

- Rob
Received on Fri Apr 11 09:22:29 2008

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Fri Apr 11 2008 - 09:22:29 CEST